KHYC 2009 SPINNAKER SERIES

A series of 6 PHRF race events hosted by KHYC. The series is a qualifier for the Bill Smith Cup, the ASMBYC Championship and 5 of the 6 are also ASMBYC High Point races.

DIVISIONS: PHRF Area B buoy handicaps are used to establish classes of approximately even size. Class assignment then applies for the entire series. Handicaps used for scoring vary according to the race format. Non-spinnaker, non-gennaker boats will start in class and course per the spinnaker boat class split but will then have their PHRF defined offset added for scoring.

ENTRIES: Spinnaker classes are open to members of SCYA affiliated Yacht Clubs or Associations who hold a valid PHRF rating certificate. Those skippers may be required to show their 2009 certificate. Non-spinnaker racers who are not PHRF members will be assigned a rating by the KHYC race chairman. A single entry form with an entry fee of \$50.00 will suffice for the entire series, or \$10.00 for each individual race.

RULES: This series will be governed by the current Racing Rules of Sailing and the Sailing Instructions issued by KHYC for each race. The N.O.R. and the Sailing Instructions will be available at the club on race day, on the KHYC web site "KHYC.ORG" or on the water from the R/C boat for PRE-REGISTERED racers from other harbors.

SCORING: The USSA low point scoring system will apply except that scoring for DNS, DSQ, etc. will be based on the number of starters in each race. Each race will be scored separately toward the lowest series total for 6 races with **one throw out**. Boats must sail 4 race events to qualify for series awards and be a PHRF member to qualify for perpetual trophies.

TROPHIES: There will be individual take home trophies for each event and participation trophies for skippers who race all 6 events. Perpetual trophies for each race, as noted in the Sailing Instructions will be awarded to the PHRF member winner during the annual race award event in November. The "Bob Hight Memorial" Perpetual Trophy for Class A and "The Spinnaker" Perpetual Trophy for Class B are awarded to the overall series winners. The Bill Smith Perpetual trophy will be awarded to the King Harbor based boat with the highest net score in the series.

HOSPITALITY: Participants are welcome to use the clubhouse, guest dock and hoist (6000 lbs. Max) in conjunction with each race. Refreshments are offered after the races, except for the No.4 race event.

Race Chairman: Rudy van Kreuningen.....(310) 373-6254 Assistant Race Chair: Ski Tarnosky.....(310) 376-9869 KHYC Office: (310) 376-2459 FAX:....(310) 374-5848

KHYC 2009 SPINNAKER SERIES

Individual Race Descriptions

No. 1 Stoney Special, Saturday, January 24th

A three race event around the buoys featuring a variety of spinnaker sets. A Category 4 event. Buoy ratings apply. An ASMBYC High Point race. #

No. 2 Trans Harbor, Saturday April 11th

This race tests knowledge of wind around Bluff Cove and PV Point. The start is at K mark, around R10 to Point Fermin and back. Class B boats may be assigned a shorter course.

A Category 4 event and RLC ratings apply. An ASMBYC High Point race. #

No. 3 Malibu and Return. Saturday May 2nd

A race of about 34 miles rounding the El Segundo Buoy to port, then across Santa Monica Bay to a mark near the Malibu Pier and return. A Category 3 event and RLC ratings apply. An ASMBYC High Point Race.#

No. 4 Santa Barbara Island to port and back, June 6th.

A long Windward Leeward race .This race may either start on Friday afternoon or Saturday. See Notice of Race for details. The B fleet will have a shorter course. A category 2 event.

No. 5 Windward Leeward, Saturday September 12th

A medium distance race to a buoy in the Santa Monica Bay .It will consist of one windward and one leeward leg.. A **Category 4** event. RLC ratings apply.

No. 6 Eagle Rock Race, Saturday October 3rd

A race around Eagle rock at the west end of Catalina to a finish line at Howland's landing. Stay at Catalina over night (not required) and cruise back. A category 3 event. An ASMBYC High Point race. #

Perpetual Trophies for this series:

Marold Eyestone perpetual, Mayor's Perpetual,
Fisherman's Race Perpetual (2nd longest race), H.A. Simms Perpetual,
Lobsterhouse perpetual (longest race), Matt Walsh Perpetual
Overall Perpetuals: Bob Hight Memorial and the Spinnaker Perpetual
(#) Redondo Harbor Series - Bill Smith Perpetual